Google has rolled out a minor update to the Google Photos Android app. This update explicitly gives the workflow before any deletion of a picture is done. When you tap on the delete button, the screen shows an explicit delete confirmation screen before any action is taken.
This new feature will cut down on incidences of errant and accidental deletion of an image. Previously, you could delete a picture on Google Photo, by simply hitting the delete button. A snackbar will then slide-up at the bottom of the screen displaying ‘Undo’ which when pressed will undo the deletion.
However, that slide-up menu at the bottom of the display was not conspicuous to many users. That leads to many people not having to undo, despite their wish to do so, and having a chance to do so, simply because the option was not conspicuous. The snackbar also disappeared a bit too quickly; it only appeared for a few seconds and in not enough time for some users to notice its presence.
The new delete confirmation screen will slide up conspicuously letting the users know the action they have taken …read more